Troll and Rififi Nonantais win major semi-finals

Troll and Rififi Nonantais win major semi-finals

Andrew Farrugia steers Troll to victory on Sunday. Photo: Matthew Mirabelli

Andrew Farrugia steers Troll to victory on Sunday. Photo: Matthew Mirabelli

The 52rd meeting of the season, made up of ten races all for trotters, was held on Sunday.

The card included semi-final races for French trotters from the Prix De Ile De France, for Premier Class trotters, the Prix De Normandie, for Gold Class, and the Prix De La Cote d’Azur for Silver category. All championship races, held over a long distance of 2,640m, are organised by the Malta Racing Club in collaboration with the French association Le Trot and betting companies Izibet and PMU.

On Sunday, Noel Baldacchino was best driver with five wins.

From the two Premier semi-finals, 12 horses qualified for the final stage.

Eleven trotters lined up for the race semi-final. Early leader, Tip Top Nelliere (David Ellul), ran out of steam around 300m from the post and it was reeled in by Troll (Andrew Farrugia) which sealed its first win by a length from Tipol De Nappes (Michael Ghigo) and Ricky Rock (Charles Camilleri).

Tip Top Nelliere had to settle for fourth place with Tender And True (Ramon Briffa) and Quartz De Vindecy (Carmelo Farrugia) also making it for the final.

Rififi Nonantais (Rodney Gatt) went unchallenged for most of the distance in the second Premier semi-final.

This French trotter cruised to its second consecutive win by a length from Ruy Blas d’Ariane (George Attard), Twist Des Baux (Noel Baldacchino) and Royal De Vaiges (David Ellul). Tino De Tortiere (Salvu Cutajar) and Service Secret (Andrew Farrugia) also progressed for the final.

In the first Gold semi-final a keen race developed between four trotters.

In the end, it was Supreme De Corday (Noel Baldacchino) which claimed its third win of the season and its second in a row from Quartz De Gautiers (Cliferty Calleja), Urgo d’Ouxy (Jeffrey Said) and Tennis d’Anjou (Jeffrey Xerri).

Sir De L’Esque (Frankie Abdilla) and Unit Price (Charles Camilleri) followed in that order.

Baldacchino also succeeded in winning the second semi-final from the Gold championship.

Driving Un Reve d’Or, Baldacchino saw his trotter dashing strongly from the outside in the last 500m and finish first ahead of Vif Ludois (Jesmar Gafa), Sultan De Renier (Patrick Spiteri) and Ubu Du Metz (Charles Camilleri). Tenor Courtamblay (Ryan Scicluna) and Tourbillon (Cliferty Calleja) were the other horses to qualify for the final race.

Meanwhile, another meeting at the racetrack will be held on Sunday. The first race is scheduled for 1.30pm.

The winners

Race 1. Silver. Peanut Butter (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.17.3”

Race 2. Bronze. Svennes Neon (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.18.3”

Race 3. Silver. Tenor Orange (Rodney Gatt) – 1.16.4”

Race 4. Silver. Turbot De Renier (Julian Farrugia) – 1.19.1”

Race 5. Silver Class. Un Dorien (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.17.2”

Race 6. Premier. Troll (Andrew Farrugia) – 1.15.9”

Race 7. Gold. Supreme De Corday (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.16.5”

Race 8. Gold. Un Reve d’Or (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.15.9”

Race 9. Premier. Rififi Nonantais (Rodney Gatt) – 1.17.1”

Race 10. Silver. Boko Won (Raymond Cassar) – 1.18.5”


Comments not loading? We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox with javascript turned on.
Comments powered by Disqus