Gold Class races steal the limelight

Gold Class races steal the limelight

With no Premier Class races on schedule in yesterday’s 13th meeting of the season, it was the turn of the class gold trotters to steal the limelight at the Marsa Racetrack yesterday.

In the first class Gold race, Starfirefinnfemfel (Dylan Gatt) ran out of steam around 300m from the end and the Swedish trotter was overtaken by favourite Mad Neo (Noel Baldacchino) which notched its second win in a row.

Mad Neo finished seven lengths clear of High Stage (Marco Refalo) while Tempo d’Ecajuel (Julian Farrugia) and Ronson Cloc (Carmelo Farrugia) placed third and fourth respectively.

A keen duel between two trotters, Robis Salvation (David Ellul) and Lover Roc (Jurgen Attard) developed in the final metres of the second Gold race.

It was Robis Salvation (David Ellul) which finished first, with Livi Cantona (Mario Fenech) and Big Ben (Salvu Cutajar) forced to settle with third and fourth place.

The programme included also races for Silver Class.

In the first heat there was a keen tussle between five trotters midway through the final straight.

Uranus Phi (Salvu Cutajar) sealed its first win in Malta from Ukase Du Ravary (Owen Borg).

Swedish mare Onas Sonja (Michael Ghigo) led all the way in the second class Silver race. Ghigo’s mare gained its first win in Malta by a length from Victorios Phedo (Clifferty Calleja).

Early leader, Memory Chip (Julian Farrugia) was overtaken 150m from the end of the third heat by Sirocco De Line (Warren Spiteri) which notched its fourth successive victory at Marsa.

Evisir (Redent Magro) was unchallenged during the fourth and last class Silver race. This Swedish nine-year-old cruised to its second win in Malta by two lengths from Texas De Coudde (Joseph Scerri).

Another meeting at the racetrack will be held on Sunday.

Winners at racetrack

Race 1. Class Bronze – Ultra Sport (Jurgen Azzopardi) – 1.15.8”
Race 2. Class Bronze – Atout De Carriere (Michael Sultana) – 1.16.1”
Race 3. Class Silver – Uranus Phi (Salvu Cutajar) – 1.15.6”
Race 4. Class Silver – Onas Sonja (Michael Ghigo) – 1.15.5”
Race 5. Class Bronze – Stuart Des Noes (Frencu Cassar) – 1.17.1”
Race 6. Class Silver – Sirocco De Line (Warren Spiteri) – 1.15”
Race 7. Class Gold – Mad Neo (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.14.4”
Race 8. Class Silver – Evisir (Redent Magro) – 1.15.8”
Race 9. Class Gold – Robis Salvation (David Ellul) – 1.14.2”
Race 10. Class Bronze – Trytocatchme (Charles Camilleri) – 1.15.9”

Comments not loading? We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox with javascript turned on.
Comments powered by Disqus