First Premier class win for Tonio Du Vivier

First Premier class win for Tonio Du Vivier

Charles Camilleri steered Tonio Du Vivier to its first win in the class Premier during the sixth meeting of the season which also featured the two semi-finals from the Assikura Championship for class Gold trotters.

Camilleri finished as the day’s leading driver at the Marsa racetrack with three wins.

Sixteen horses lined up for the class Premier race.

It was Tonio Du Vivier which took the lead midway through the distance. This French trotter ran unimpeded till the end of the race as it cruised to its first success in Malta.

The French trotter finished seven lengths clear of Tennis d’Anjou (Christian Xerri) and Sephiro Flam (Clint Vassallo). Cummin (Rodney Gatt) ended in fourth place.

The class Premier winner clocked an average time of 1.17.4” per kilometre.

In the Assikura Championship, 12 horses booked their place in the final.

In the first semi-final, Tempo Boy (Clint Vassallo) was overtaken by favourite Sultan Des Renier (Patrick Spiteri) around 50m from the finishing line and had to settle for second place.

Timoudy De Littry (Paul Galea), Tom De Grez (Michael Ellul), Zalgado Transs R (Nicholas Binello) and Quartz De Gautiers (Cliferty Calleja) followed behind in that order.

For Sultan Des Renier this was its second win in a row in Malta.

A keen tussle between five trotters emerged in the final straight of the second class Gold semi-final.

It was Remain Garbo (Charles Camilleri) which eventually claimed its third consecutive win from Ubu Du Metz (Rodney Gatt), Livi Cantona (Mario Fenech) and Printemps De Gaia (Johann Axisa).

Mad Neo (Noel Baldacchino) and Uther Paradise (Julian Farrugia) were the last two trotters to qualify for the final stage.

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be on Sunday.

The first race is scheduled to start at 1.15pm.

Yesterday’s winners

Race 1. Class Copper – Coup De Vent (Johann Axisa) – 1.19.6”
Race 2. Class Bronze – Querby Du Gite (Nathaniel Barbara) – 1.19.4”
Race 3. Class Silver – Trytocatchme (Charles Camilleri) – 1.20”
Race 4. Class Bronze – Roc Magister (Kirsten Axisa) – 1.19.9”
Race 5. Class Gold – Turbot De Renier (Ivan Bilocca) – 1.18.6”
Race 6. Class Silver – Reveal Champ Blanc (Tony Cauchi) – 1.20.2”
Race 7. Assikura Championship semi-final, Class Gold – 1. Sultan Des Renier (Patrick Spiteri) – 1.16.2”
Race 8. Class Gold – Universal Charm (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.19.3”
Race 9. Class Premier – Tonio Du Vivier (Charles Camilleri) – 1.17.4”
Race 10. Assikura Championship semi-final, Class Gold – Remain Garbo (Charles Camilleri) – 1.16.7”
Race 11. Class Silver – Evisir (Redent Magro) – 1.19.4”

Comments not loading? We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox with javascript turned on.
Comments powered by Disqus