Overtaker By Sib grabs Premier Class honours

Overtaker By Sib grabs Premier Class honours

Overtaker By Sib storms to victory in yesterday’s Premier Class event. Photo: Chris Sant Fournier

Overtaker By Sib storms to victory in yesterday’s Premier Class event. Photo: Chris Sant Fournier

Italian Overtaker By Sib took the honours in the Premier Class race during yesterday’s 25th meeting of the season at the Marsa Racetrack.

The day’s schedule consisted of 10 races, all for trotters. Eight were from three championships for French horses – the Prix d’Enghien for Gold Class trotters, the Prix De Cabourg for the Silver Class and the Prix De Cagnes Sur Mer for those in the Bronze category.

This year, these championships are being organised by the Malta Racing Club with the financial support of local betting company Izibet and the French association Le Trot.

Noel Baldacchino once again finished as the meeting’s best driver with three wins.

In the Premier race, Baldacchino put Ricky Rock in front with a lap to go. In the last 1,000 metres, this French trotter opened a small lead from Uvario (Charles Debono), Sensei (Nicholas Bonello) and Quillian Joyeux (Andrew Farrugia).

However, with around 300m to go, Ricky Rock changed pace and was disqualified. Italian favourite Overtaker By Sib (Marco Refalo) dashed strongly from the outside and took the lead midway through the final straight to grab its fifth win of the year and its second in a row from Quartz De Vindecy (Carmelo Farrugia) and Uvario (Charles Debono).

The winner clocked an average time of 1.15.6” per kilometre.

From the two Gold heats, another 12 horses qualified for the semi-final stage.

In the first heat, Sacre Look (George Muscat) ran out of steam around 150 metres from the finishing line.

In the final metres, this trotter was unable to see off the challenge of French newcomer Sullian Du Mouty (Charles Camilleri) which secured its first win in Malta easily by more than two lengths from Ursiking (Mario Falzon), Sirocco Du Lys (Brian Hili) and Sacre Look.

Sirocco Kadesh (Emmanuel Buhagiar) and Soliman Du Corbon (Rodney Gatt) also made it through to the semi-finals.

Sephiro Flam (Clint Vassallo) was unchallenged during the 2,140m-distance of the second Gold heat.

Vassallo’s trotter led all the way to seal its first win on the Maltese islands from Spy Game (Charles Camilleri), Quel Homme (Carl Caruana) and Quio De Nappes (Redent Magro).

Spider Du Maine (Cliferty Calleja) and French debutant Salut Franbleu (Brian Hili) were the other two trotters which progressed to the semi-finals after placing fifth and sixth.

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held on Sunday. The first race starts at 1.45pm.

Yesterday’s winners

Race 1. Copper – Anice Du Chaillou (Frans Tanti) – 1.19.5”.
Race 2. Prix De Cagnes Sur Mer Heat – Atout De Carriere (Michael Sultana) – 1.17.5”.
Race 3. Prix De Cagnes Sur Mer – Tango d’Essag (Michael Ellul) – 1.17.1”.
Race 4. Prix De Cabourg Heat – Rapide Du Matin (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.15.7”.
Race 5. Prix d’Enghien Heat – Sullian Du Mouty (Charles Camilleri) – 1.15.9”.
Race 6. Prix De Cabourg Heat – Touareg Du Boscail (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.16”.
Race 7. Prix d’Enghien Heat – Sephiro Flam (Clint Vassallo) – 1.15.6”.
Race 8. Prix de Cabourg Heat – Record Du Mexique (Marvin Cauchi) – 1.16.5”.
Race 9. Premier Class – Overtaker By Sib (Marco Refalo) – 1.15.6”.
Race 10. Prix De Cabourg Heat – Thales d’Hauterbe (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.16.4”.

Comments not loading? We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox with javascript turned on.
Comments powered by Disqus