Full list: Most former ministers relegated as Busuttil reshuffles shadow cabinet

Full list: Most former ministers relegated as Busuttil reshuffles shadow cabinet

Spokesmen on immigration and hunting appointed

Last Updated 6.35 pm

Opposition leader Simon Busuttil has reshuffled the shadow cabinet, relegating all but three former ministers to the back benches.

"This is a strong message of renewal by the Nationalist Party," Dr Busuttil said at a press conference. He said the PN was showing it was ready and able to make change. This was a formidable team which would present a serious and credible opposition to the government. 

The changes, he said, also showed that he was keeping his promise of a new style of politics. This was a change not just of people but also format. The shadow cabinet was now composed of just 10 people, with each coordinating groups that would have a number of Opposition MPs. This would ensure that the work of the opposition would involve not just the shadow ministers, but all Opposition MPs as spokesmen.

The process of change in the PN would continue over the coming months, he said.

The shadow ministers are  Beppe Fenech Adami, Mario de Marco, Chris Said, Jason Azzopardi, Claudio Grech, Marthese Portelli, Claudette Buttigieg, Paula Mifsud Bonnici and MEPs Roberta Metsola and Therese Commodini Cachia. Other MPs will be spokesmen on particular subjects.

Mario de Marco is the shadow minister for finance, taking over from Tonio Fenech, who has been assigned to foreign policy.

Beppe Fenech Adami and Jason Azzopardi will swap roles, the former shadowing home affairs and the latter, justice.

Claudette Buttigieg  is the new shadow minister for health, taking over from Claudio Grech, who will shadow economic affairs instead. 

Marthese Portelli, is shadow minister for the environment, energy and transport. That role was  occupied by George Pullicino. Mr Pullicino becomes a spokesman on Early and Compulsory Education.

Another newcomer, Paula Mifsud Bonnici, is shadow for social policy, which includes areas her father Antoine was responsible for when he was parliamentary secretary up to the 2008 election.

Chris Said has become shadow minister for Gozo, taking over from Giovanna Debono, who has announced she will retire after the next general election.

MEP Therese Comodini Cachia has been appointed shadow minister for education, taking over from Joe Cassar while Roberta Metsola is shadowing foreign and European affairs instead of Carm Mifsud Bonnici, who becomes a spokesman on employment, industrial relations and workers’ rights.

Francis Zammit Dimech has  become spokesman on immigration. Charlo Bonnici has been appointed as spokesman for hunting in view of the possibility that Malta will have a referendum on spring hunting.

The new line-up means the removal from the front bench of all former ministers except Mario de Marco, Chris Said and Jason Azzopardi.

Replying to questions, Dr Busuttil said David Casa would continue to serve as head of the PN MEPs in the European Parliament.

Asked about the former ministers such as Tonio Fenech and George Pullicino, Dr Busuttil said they had been spokesmen and remained spokesmen. People like Tonio Fenech and George Pullicino had given a lot and would continue to form part of teams headed by shadow ministers


Mario de Marco - Finance
Robert Arrigo - Small businesses, manufacturing sector, retail, self-employed and cooperatives.

Beppe Fenech Adami - Home Affairs
Police, Defence, Armed Forces, Security, Correctional Services, Civil Protection
Francis Zammit Dimech - Immigration

Chris Said - Gozo
Frederick Azzopardi - Spokesperson on Gozo Affairs
Giovanna Debono - Spokesperson on Gozo Affairs

Paula Mifsud Bonnici - Social Policy
Robert Cutajar - Family and the rights of children, the elderly and persons with a disability
Stephen Spiteri - Housing and the fight against poverty

Jason Azzopardi - Justice and Democracy
Clyde Puli Citizens’ rights, equality, social dialogue, consumers’ rights, internet rights, communications and audio-visual policy
Joseph Cassar - Culture and the Arts
David Agius - Local Government, Youth and Sports

Claudette Buttigieg - Health and Healthy Lifestyle
Michael Gonzi - Primary Health and Healthcare Professions
Albert Fenech - Mental Health

Claudio Grech - Economic Affairs
Enterprise policy, competition policy, the creative industry, the knowledge society
Kristy Debono - Financial services, IT and gaming
Antoine Borg - Tourism
Censu Galea - Public Administration and Government Investments

Therese Commodini Cachia -  Education and Employment

Further and Higher education, research, innovation and socio-economic development
George Pullicino - Early and Compulsory Education
Carm Mifsud Bonnici - Employment, Industrial Relations and Workers’ rights

Marthese Portelli -  Environment, Energy and Transport
Ryan Callus Environment, Lands, MEPA and infrastructure
Charlo Bonnici - Hunting
Toni Bezzina - Agriculture and Fisheries
Mario Galea - Animal Welfare

Roberta Metsola - European and Foreign Affairs
Tonio Fenech Foreign Affairs, including relations with non-EU countries, with international organisations and Mediterranean policy

Mario de Marco - Coordination of Parliamentary Group
Censu Galea Deputy Speaker
David Agius Whip
Frederick Azzopardi Deputy Whip
Tonio Fenech Chairman, Public Accounts Committee
David Casa Head of Maltese Delegation in the EPP Group of the European Parliament


Comments not loading? We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox with javascript turned on.
Comments powered by Disqus