Prieure first in top final

Prieure first in top final

Prieure charging to victory, yesterday. Photo: Alan Carville

Prieure charging to victory, yesterday. Photo: Alan Carville

As expected, the Prix De Vincennes final for French Premier Class trotters was the main attraction in yesterday’s 29th meeting of the year at the racetrack.

The afternoon card also included four other finals for French horses.

The Premier final was contested by ten trotters. It was Prieure (Charles Camilleri) which stormed ahead in the early stages, opening a slight lead from Pat De Fontaine (Noel Baldac-chino) and Ourasi Diams (Emmanuel Fenech).

Although Prieure was always in front, this 11-year-old trotter had to go all the way in the final straight to stave off the challenge from Pat De Fontaine.

Pouloud Keroc’H (Chris Vassallo) and Ourasi Diams were third and fourth respectively.

The winner obtained its fourth win in a row in an average time of 1.14.3” per kilometre.

Emmanuelle Morvillers, on behalf of the French association Le Trot, presented the prestigious trophy to Julian Bezzina and Joseph Borg, owners, and driver Camilleri at the end of the race.

Earlier, Oeilet De Phens (Rodney Gatt) produced a strong burst in the final metres of the Prix d’Enghien final for Gold Class trotters to notch up its first win for 2014.

In the Silver Class Prix De Cabourg final there was a close finish between Panda Des Fleches (Chris Cassar) and Quazoumax (Andrew Farrugia).

The photo-finish had to determine the winner and victory went to Panda Des Fleches.

There was another keen tussle, involving Pacha De Sassy (Omar Cauchi) and Roff Gy (Noel Baldacchino), in the final metres of the Prix De Cagnes Sur Mer final for Bronze Class trotters.

In the end, it was Pacha De Sassy which registered its fourth win in a row and a fifth this season.

The Copper Class Prix De Caen final saw Uranium Des Arkads (Kurt Saliba) securing its fourth win of the year after increasing its speed with a lap to go.

The next meeting at Marsa will be held on Friday evening.

Yesterday’s winners

Race 1. Bronze – Lime Casted (Kirsten Gialanze) – 1.18.2”
Race 2. Silver – Zizazimoko (Tony Demanuele) – 1.16”
Race 3. Copper – Uranium Des Arkads (Kurt Saliba) – 1.17.9”
Race 4. Bronze – Pacha De Sassy (Omar Cauchi) – 1.17”
Race 5. Silver – Panda Des Fleches (Chris Cassar) – 1.16”
Race 6. Gold – Oeilet De Phens (Rodney Gatt) – 1.15.6”
Race 7. Premier – Prieure (Charles Camilleri) – 1.14.3”
Race 8. Gold – Quito De Femisson (Redent Magro) – 1.16.2”

Comments not loading? We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox with javascript turned on.
Comments powered by Disqus