Shadow Cabinet announced - major changes from former Cabinet

Shadow Cabinet announced - major changes from former Cabinet

Opposition leader Simon Busuttil has announced his shadow Cabinet, with some significant changes from the Cabinet of the PN government.

No responsibilities have been assigned to former leader Lawrence Gonzi, who is expected to resign his Parliamentary seat and leave politics in the coming weeks.

Among the major changes, Mario de Marco, formerly tourism minister, will now be spokesman on the economy, investment and small business.

George Pullicino, former resources minister, is responsible for energy and water conservation.

Jason Azzopardi, former minister for SMEs and lands, becomes responsible for home affairs and national security.

Former Foreign Minister Francis Zammit Dimech is now spokesman for culture and communications, responsibilities he held in a ministerial portfolio some years ago.

Former Home Affairs Minister Carm Mifsud Bonnici is spokesman on foreign affairs and Robert Arrigo is spokesman for tourism.

Beppe Fenech Adami is spokesman for justice.

The shadow Cabinet is as follows.

Shadow Cabinet
Dr Simon Busuttil
Leader of the Opposition
Mr Censu Galea
Deputy Speaker and Spokesperson for Agriculture and Fisheries
Mr David Agius
Group Whip and Spokesperson for Local Government
Mr Frederick Azzopardi
Group Deputy Whip and Spokesperson for Gozo (health services and education)
Ms Giovanna Debono
Spokesperson  for Gozo
Mr George Pullicino
Spokesperson for Energy and the Conservation of Water
Mr Tonio Fenech
Spokesperson  for Finance
Dr Joseph Cassar
Spokesperson for Health
Dr Jason Azzopardi
Spokesperson for Home Affairs and National Security
Dr Mario de Marco
Spokesperson for the Economy, Investment and Small Business
Dr Chris Said
Spokesperson for the Family and Social Solidarity
Dr Francis Zammit Dimech
Spokesperson for Culture and Communications
Dr Carm Mifsud Bonnici
Spokesperson for Foreign Affairs
Mr Clyde Puli
Spokesperson for Education
Mr Mario Galea
Spokesperson for the Elderly
Mr Robert Arrigo
Spokesperson for Tourism
Dr Beppe Fenech Adami
Spokesperson for Justice
Mr Charlo Bonnici
Spokesperson for Sustainable Development, the Environment and Climate change
Dr Stephen Spiteri
Spokesperson for Employment
Dr Michael Gonzi
Spokesperson for Animal Welfare
Mr Anthony Bezzina
Spokesperson for Transport and Infrastructure
Ms Claudette Buttigieg
Spokesperson for Social Dialogue and Civil Liberties
Mr Ryan Callus
Spokesperson for the EU Presidency 2017 and EU funds
Mr Robert Cutajar
Spokesperson for Research, Innovation, Youth and Sport
Ms Kristy Debono
Spokesperson for Competitiveness and Economic Growth
Professor Albert Fenech
Spokesperson for Rights of Persons with Disability

Mr Claudio Grech
Spokesperson for Planning and Simplification of Administrative Processes
Dr Paula Mifsud Bonnici
Spokesperson for Competition and Consumer Affairs
Dr Marthese Portelli
Spokesperson for European Affairs
Committee of the Parliamentary Group for the South
Chairperson: Dr Stephen Spiteri
Members: Mr Mario Galea, Dr Carm Mifsud Bonnici, Dr Jason Azzopardi, Mr Anthony Bezzina
Comments not loading? We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox with javascript turned on.
Comments powered by Disqus