Think Yatzee storms into final

Cassar claims maiden victory with Danish newcomer Mars

Josef Cassar (left) shows his delight as he steers newcomer Mars to victory, yesterday. Photo: Jason Borg

Josef Cassar (left) shows his delight as he steers newcomer Mars to victory, yesterday. Photo: Jason Borg

Driven by Clint Vassallo, Think Yatzee won yesterday’s top race, the second semi-final of the Cassar Petroleum Championship for Premier class trotters on the shorter distance of 2,140m.

This race formed part of the 44th meeting of the season.

Six horses qualified for the final stage of the Cassar Petroleum Championship. It was Veikko Hornline (Carl Caruana) that set the early pace, opening a length lead from Nelson du Val (Salvu Cutajar) and Matrix Reloaded (Rodney Gatt).

But, with 400m to go, Veikko Hornline began to lose pace and, in the final straight, it was overtaken by Think Yatzee which made a strong dash from the outside to cruise to an emphatic win, its third of the year.

Troy Boshoeve (Salvu Vella) and Matrix Reloaded finished third and fourth respectively. Livi Cantona (Charles Camilleri) and Noble d’Ete (Raymond Clifton) also progressed to the final stage.

Yesterday’s card also included a normal Premier class race, also on the shorter distance. Eleven horses lined up for this race.

Oros de Reve (Charles Camilleri) stormed ahead in the initial stages, building a length lead from Versace Boko (Warren Spiteri) and Orion d’Ostal (Darren Mizzi).

But, in the middle of the home stretch, the early pace-setter ran out of steam and was reeled in by Danish newcomer Mars, under the guidance of owner Josef Cassar who obtained his maiden win.

Skip Dimanche (Charlò Debono) and Versace Boko claimed the other top-four positions.

In the first of two races for Gold class trotters, favourite Netter Williams (Redent Magro) upped its pace 500m from the finish line to secure its third win of the season and second in a row.

Baron GL (Clint Vassallo) was second, ahead of Naja In Blue (Mario Falzon) and Podium (Julian Farrugia).

Ozerio (Noel Baldacchino) and Keeping Quality (Charles Magro) sprinted neck-and-neck in the final stages of the second Gold class race. It was the former that gained its first win of the year with Okir de Leau (Brian Hili) and Side Spin (Julian Farrugia) following home in that order.

Another programme was held on Friday evening. The card included the first semi-final of the Premier class championship.

Favourite Mont Cenis Honey (Noel Baldacchino) took the lead with a lap to go and secured its second win in a row by half-a-length from Zilver Boko (Tony Demanuele), Count Of Life (Samuel Bezzina) and Shakira Trot (Charles Camilleri).

Celebrity Photo (Marvin Cauchi) and Maximal Value (John Briffa) also made it to the final stage.

Mont Cenis Honey clocked an impressive average time of 1.14.8” per kilometre.

The next horse racing meeting will be held on Sunday at the Marsa Racetrack, starting at 2 p.m.

The winners
Race 1: Copper, Ksar (Kurt Saliba) – 1.18.5”.
Race 2: Bronze, Marchallach (Rodney Gatt) – 1.17.1”.
Race 3: Silver, Orio de Marancourt (Frenċu Cassar) – 1.17.8”.
Race 4: Silver, Lucas Ness (Mario Farrugia) – 1.17.4”.
Race 5: Premier, Mars (Josef Cassar) – 1.15.8”.
Race 6: Gold, Netter Williams (Redent Magro) – 1.15.7”.
Race 7: Cassar Petroleum Championship SF (Premier),Think Yatzee (Clint Vassallo) – 1.15.9”.
Race 8: Gold, Ozerio (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.16.1”.


See our Comments Policy Comments are submitted under the express understanding and condition that the editor may, and is authorised to, disclose any/all of the above personal information to any person or entity requesting the information for the purposes of legal action on grounds that such person or entity is aggrieved by any comment so submitted. Please allow some time for your comment to be moderated.

Comments not loading? We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox with javascript turned on.
Comments powered by Disqus