Times sweeps press awards

The Times and The Sunday Times scooped seven awards last night, as well as the Gold Award rewarding the work of the late John Micallef, columnist better known as Roamer.

Journalist Kurt Sansone won the Print News category, while Christian Peregin topped the Print Features section.

Matthew Mirabelli clinched two photography awards: the Photographic Journalism News and Photographic Journalism Sports. Kevin Azzopardi won the Print Journalism Sports award.

Contributor Alan Deidun secured the Environment ­Journalism award for his regular column in The Sunday Times, while freelancer Andrew Azzopardi received an award for his opinion articles in The Times.

Mr Micallef’s sister, Rosa Micallef Judge, collected the Gold Award (sponsored by the Tumas Fenech Foundation) from Emeritus President Eddie Fenech Adami. The Roamer columnist died last January, aged 76.

Organised by the Institute of Maltese Journalists, the awards were judged by an independent jury made up of Charles Mizzi, Michael Caruana and John ­Consiglio.

Comments not loading? We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox with javascript turned on.
Comments powered by Disqus