New chairman of Heritage Malta appointed

Joseph Said has succeeded Mario Tabone as chairman of Heritage Malta, the Ministry of Education and Culture announced this afternoon.

Dr Tabone has been proposed as the chairman of the Maltese European Cultural Capital committee. He is still considering the offer.

The members of the new Heritage Malta board are Isabelle Vella, deputy chairman, Evelyn Baluci, Marika Grech, Prof. Anthony Bonanno, John Cremona, Martin Mercieca, Bryan Magro and Norma Camilleri.

Mr Said has been CEO of Lombard Bank for the past 10 years and chairman of Maltapost since 2007.

Education and Culture Minister Dolores Cristina thanked the outgoing board for its valuable work.

The ministry said Mrs Cristina has offered Dr Tabone the post of chairman of the European Cultural Capital committee. Malta, together with Holland, have been selected by the European Union to name cities to be the European cultural capitals in 2018. They have to prepare a programme of activities on a European dimension for that year, along with a major national project. Details of the plans have to be submitted six years in advance.


See our Comments Policy Comments are submitted under the express understanding and condition that the editor may, and is authorised to, disclose any/all of the above personal information to any person or entity requesting the information for the purposes of legal action on grounds that such person or entity is aggrieved by any comment so submitted. Please allow some time for your comment to be moderated.

Comments not loading? We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox with javascript turned on.
Comments powered by Disqus