Keith Galea crossing the finish line to win the race in Birzebbuga.Keith Galea crossing the finish line to win the race in Birzebbuga.

Keith Galea claimed the title in this year’s Triathlon Series organised by the Birkirkara St Joseph Sports Club.

Galea, who dons the Birkirkara SJ colours, stayed unbeaten throughout the four races in the series as Hannah Pace topped the classification for women.

Both triathletes made sure of the titles by winning their respective categories in the final race held recently in Birżebbuġa.

Galea was again dominant in all three segments of the race.

He clocked 10 minutes, 37 seconds in the 750-metre swim, 32 minutes, 53 seconds in the 20-kilometre bike segment, and 18 minutes, 43 seconds in the final five-kilometre run.

He won the race in 1:03.29.

Fabio Spiteri, of Agones SC, won the battle for second place in an overall time of 1:05.12, beating Birkirkara St Joseph’s Graham Borg by 119 seconds.

Galea won the series in four hours, 14 minutes, 38 seconds, in front of Spiteri (4:22:09) and Borg (4:24:42).

Other winners were Neil Markham (Agones SC) in the Under 23 category, Holger Mitterer, also of Agones SC, in the Over 40 category, Pawlu Brincat (St Patrick’s AC) in Over 50, and John Schembri (Qormi CC) in Over 60.

Pace’s consistency throughout the women’s series paid good dividends as she finished top of the table after the fourth and final race.

She marked her success with a personal best time after swimming 750 metres in 11 minutes, six seconds. She cycled the 20 kilometres in 36 minutes, 40 seconds and ran five kilometres in 21 minutes, 11 seconds. Her accumulated time was 1:10.09.

Michelle Vella Wood, of Birkirkara St Joseph, was second in 1:12.33 and third was Margaret Seguna, of Mellieħa AC, in 1:13.20.

Pace won the series in four hours, 46 minutes, 41 seconds ahead of Vella Wood (4:52:42) and Seguna (5:00:05).

In other categories, Donatelle Camilleri (Mellieħa AC) was first in the Over 40s and Sue Farrugia (Birkirkara SJ) won the Over 50s category.

A relay team, made up of Jean Claude Cutajar (swim), Steve Sciberras (bike) and Hadrian Bonello (run), won the BSJ series in four hours, 14 minutes and 56 seconds.

The BSJ sprint triathlon championship was held under the auspices of the Malta Triathlon Federation and sponsored by Festina Watches and The Cyclist, of San Gwann.

In organising the series, Bir-kirkara St Joseph Sports Club were also assisted by the Birżebbuġa Local Council, Transport Malta and the District Police.

Sign up to our free newsletters

Get the best updates straight to your inbox:
Please select at least one mailing list.

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By subscribing, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing.